top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClaire MacBride

Wander Where the Wifi is Weak :)

Needless to say, the wifi is weak here in Olomouc, Czech Republic...


After planning, working, stressing, and being over whelmed with excitement for so many months, I'm finally here!!!


I don't think I could have asked for a better experience after being here for only 2 weeks and still knowing that I have about 10 more to go! The adventure has just begun!! Arriving here in this foreign country has definitely tested my traveling abilities. Before now I have travelled to Ireland about 3 separate times. But immediately stepping off the plane in Prague, Czech Republic, I don't think I could have prepared myself for such a big, unexpected culture shock.





The language barrier right away was not something I expected to be so hard to work around. But after getting through the passport check, finding my luggage, and getting into taxi, things became a lot easier. After traveling for over 24 hours by myself, I was more than relieved to finally be around faces that were familiar to me arriving at my airbnb with friends waiting for me.


I love everything about this country. The culture, the people, the language, and the food. Being here 2 weeks already has shown me its ups and downs. The amount of emotions that come with this experience can be very overwhelming but I'm learning to take it one step at a time. Homesickness is a very real thing that I didn't really think I expected to feel. I've always been someone that never had a problem being away from my familiar places but, like I said, this adventure has thrown me into its ups and downs hahaha. When I'm feeling down or missing home I've found it is very easy to cheer myself up by simply looking around at this new world I'm living in (that I'm LIVING IN!!! It still amazes me that I have this opportunity!) and just being in awe at the beauty and the history that this place holds in itself. This experience continues to amaze me because everyday I'm learning something new! The history strikes me because every building or monument has its own story and I think that is the coolest thing ever!







This past weekend my group of friends and I traveled to Budapest! I fell in love with the city faster than I expected! We went on a free walking tour in the bitter, freezing cold and snow and I still had the most amazing experience! Although the weather was not as ideal as I had hoped, I still found my favorite city and I know I will be back someday soon to do more adventuring there!


Throughout this time I have learned to be grateful for the love and support I have back home and to cherish every moment here because time is going fast! It's only been 2 weeks and it feels like I just got here! This opportunity is amazing and it's going to fly by in the blink of an eye but I cannot wait for all the adventures I will be having with my short time here :).



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vienna Waits for You

Coming into Vienna, I really had no clue what to expect. Our first day there, we walked through one of the main strips that had a lot of shopping, food, and gelato. This lead to be quite a dangerous p

bottom of page